Playing Ketchup – Updates!

Too much for a tweet – decided to type up a quick blog entry to at least brush the dust off this thing. Oh, watch out, it’s all floating around now and I don’t want you to get any in your eyes – yeah. like that. Sorry about that. Just blink a lot and maybe go rinse off that contact. Sorry. I really didn’t mean to. I just wanted to look all epic when I blew the dust away like in a movie.

That said, I’ve finally hit break for school. The last month kept me awfully busy and so now I’m back to fulfill a few promises.

Firstly, those evidence vlogs have fallen by the wayside, but not for long. I have some very impressive things to share with you, many controversial topics I’d like to discuss with you, and yet a month still of untouched evidence to get analyzing. Be sure to visit www.youtube.com/karlwpfeiffer to check out all the old vlogs if you haven’t yet, and be sure to hit that subscribe button because I’ll be keeping you busy these next few weeks.

I did tweet just the other day about taking Hallowtide back to, well, not the drawing board, but back a step. A filmmaker friend of mine took a look over the draft and added some very important suggestions that made me want to redraft the entire thing. It would be the fourth or fifth draft at this point, which isn’t weird for a novel. Many novelists will kind of brag about how many drafts they do and how much was cut from the original as if that’s some kind of writing necessity. I think a story is ready when a story is ready, and if you spend enough attention to the first draft or three it can be shiny quite quickly. But it’s important to be aware of your work at all times, and while it will never ever be perfect, you want it to be as good as possible. Hallowtide is a very graphic, violent, hard story to read. And if it’s not firing on all cylinders, I don’t want anyone to have to endure it if it’s not maximally rewarding.

I also may have jumped the gun in saying rewrite though. Depending on how good or bad or wrong I am about the quality of the writing as I go back through the story, it might not need to the full rewarding that my recent experience has encouraged, and that would shave off months, as only a few pieces of the story would need rewritten.

The publishing process takes a long time. Querying takes months and months and then when I do land an agent, they have to push the book to publishers, and when they pick it up, it takes months to copyedit, format, and print. It will be a while, but worth it in the end.

Essentially, I’m encouraging patience with me. For all those eager to read it, you warm my heart. Everything I do is a thank you to you because without readers I’m outside, screaming at the stars to blink and consider me. So my many thanks to you.

So what do I have to offer you of my writing before then? All you have is Dreamland Crocotta to keep you warm this winter and you haven’t seen new work since July! Fear not, my robot skeleton minions, I’m exercising a treat for you to come soon. It won’t be a Christmas present – or if it is, it’s because Santa had too much eggnog and his killer hangover pushed him closer to the New Year than Christmas day.

Until then? I encourage hooking up an account at smashwords.com and reading Dreamland if you haven’t already. You can find it here; http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/20276. If you have read it, I strongly encourage writing a review (good or bad, you don’t have to like it), there are only two up yet and the more there are, the more new readers can find my work, hence my eternal gratitude.

Keep eyes peeled for big things on the way! I’ve got a lot floating around right now. Thanks for carrying on the journey with me and supporting me even as my career shifts, and a Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday to all out there.

-Karl

Leave a Reply

