Self-Portraiture and Speedlites

Karl Portrait-2Bought myself a speedlite today (Canon 430EXII, for those photo nerds wondering). A wonderful investment that I expect to get a lot of use out of. Particularly when it comes to shooting in front of sunsets and these coming winter twilights. I love the detail it brings out here. That I can shoot a moody dark scene with my 10-20mm f4-5.6 while on 100 ISO and have almost no noise to speak of makes me happy in a lot of ways. Expect to see this puppy get some work.

For those wondering, both were simple lighting setups as I played with getting my feet under me. The first was the flash attached, bouncing off the room to my left, and the second was a two light setup, with the on-camera light triggering the flash, which was used as a back/rim light.

Karl-Portrait-1

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

