Photoblog: These are the Ghoulies

Ghoulies-TeaseSpent my Friday night hanging out with these crazy fools, the Ghoulies. They’re a punk band out of Denver, Colorado, and they have a damn good time on stage. (You might recognize Connor if you’ve done a ghost hunt at the Stanley Hotel with the two of us).

The band booked me for some shots before performing at the Buffalo Rose in Golden, Colorado. Buffalo Rose was a bad ass place. Grungy and dingy but with big booming speakers, a fantastic staff, and a nice front end, it was a sick place to bang out something loud.

They banged out the tunes. I banged out the shots. These are my favorites. After shooting some 1500 photos over the course of the night, both band shots and live shots, I’ve been deleting and editing until my fingers hurt. But these are the fruits and I couldn’t be happier.

It was another experiment in flash photography at twilight, and I’m still in love with it. The lack of softbox or umbrella gives a lot of the photos a harsh look, but that works for these guys. And I’m still wigging about shooting this dark with 100 ISO. You can’t beat the sharpness.

Anyway, have a look, give their stuff a listen. This song is perhaps my favorite. They closed with it, and it was stuck in my head for the rest of the night. It’s called Backdoor Man.

Ghoulies-For-Web-9

Ghoulies-For-Web-6

Ghoulies-For-Web-2

Ghoulies-For-Web-4

Ghoulies-For-Web-7And this is the set from their live show. I creeped about during sound check and the show to get the best angles I could. I took about a thousand photos during the live element (trying to keep my shutter fast enough to avoid motion blur, catch the action without silly expressions, and nail the focus in an already-very dim but often backlit room was hard as hell, and it was easy to spray and pray when I caught an angle I liked). I got maybe 25 that I liked, and of them, only the following are the favorites.

Ghoulies-Live-15

Ghoulies-Live-8

Ghoulies-Live-4

Ghoulies-Live-9

Ghoulies-Live-10

Ghoulies-Live-11

Ghoulies-Live-12

Ghoulies-Live-20

Ghoulies-Live-21

Ghoulies-Live-1

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Photoblog: These are the Ghoulies

  1. Anonymous says:

    JAKE YERGERT WAS MY ENGLISH TEACHER

  2. Anonymous says:

    The guitar player.

Leave a Reply

